Administrative Frame Work

The University Act of 1983 is the operating basis for the actualisation of the re-born  NOUN. The Act provides, amongst others, that the  President of the  Federal Republic of Nigeria is the  Visitor to  the university. This is similar to the custom in the conventional universities in the country. In addition, there is a Council headed by the Pro-Chancellor, whose members are constituted by the Visitor through the Honourable Minister of Education. Currently, the Council of NOUN is made up of 15 appointed members apart from the internal  members of  the university  and representatives of  designated agencies  of government. The academic activities of the university are run through the Senate which has the  Vice-Chancellor as its Chairman and all Professors and Programme Leaders as members. The administrative machinery of the university is enhanced through directorates and units which at the moment are:  

Name Head Sort descending Email
Regional Training & Research Institute for Open and Distance Learning (RETRIDAL) Prof. Patrick E. Eya
Physical Development, Work & Services Arc. Abubakar Y. Alfa
Management Information System Dr Muhtar H. Alhassan
Learning Resources (Library) Dr. Adam G. Saleh
Directorate of Learning Content Management System Dr. Adewale Adesina
Research Admin and Advancement Dr. Christine I. Ofulue
Instructional Resources Development Dr. Felix E. Gbenoba
Information & Communications Technology (DICT) Dr. Madu B. Galadima
Media and Publicity Mal. Ibrahim Sheme
Bursary Mr. Ernest Odeigah
Registry Mr. Felix Edoka
Human Resources Mr. John J. Ubaji
Centre for Human Resource Development (CHRD) Mrs. Omaku Martina Eleojo
Examinations & Assessment Prof. Godwin Akper
Learners Support Services Prof. Greg Okagbare
School of Postgraduate Studies Prof. Mande Samaila
Students Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES) Prof. Sam O. Smah
Olusegun Obasanjo Centre For Good Governance Prof. Stanley N. Ngoa
Vice Chancellor's Office Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu
Academic Planning Professor Nebath Tanglang
Name Head Sort descending Email
Transport and Logistics Alhaji Isa Shehu
Legal Services Barr. Daniel Riki
Protocol Services Barr. Fatai A. Lawal
Manpower Development Unit Dr. Aturu-Aghedo Caroline
Quality Assurance Unit Dr. Fidel Okopi
Directorate for Entrepreneurship And General Studies (DE&GS) Dr. Juliet Inegbedion
(VICC) Visitors Information & Call Centres Margaret T. Merari
Anti-Corruption And Transparency Unit Of The University Mr. Ikenze Ifeanyi
Procurement Mr. Kazeem Onubaiye
Open Educational Resources Unit Mr. Sule Onuh
SERVICOM Mrs Eunice Riki
Deputy Registrar (Council) Mrs Wosilat M. Ainodion
University Clinic Mrs. Ladi N. Tanglang
Internal Audit Mrs. Lydia H. Ajayi
Staff Training & Development Mrs. Margaret Boro
Director (Academic) Ms. Temitayo R. Olowola

How to Find Us


National Open University of Nigeria
University Village
Plot 91, Cadastral Zone
Nnamdi Azikiwe Expressway
Jabi, Abuja 

Contact us on between 8 am and 4 pm on any of the following numbers:
08079917938, 07064701747, 08180139430

Visit a Study Centre.

© 2019 National Open University of Nigeria. All rights reserved.