The University

Welcome to NOUN! Vice Chancellor's Office

I heartily welcome you to the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN). The National Open University of Nigeria is an Open and Distance Learning (ODL) institution, the first of its kind in the West African sub-region. The university has an exciting platform where learning is not only easily accessible, but also affordable.

The vibrant university, at present, has 63 study centres spread across the nation. It has a student population of over 120, 000. The university is also recording landmark achievements. It was recently rated 7th position among universities in Nigeria and 86th position out of the 100 universities in Africa by Webometric International. In addition, NOUN was given the European Quality Award in Education 2011 at Oxford, UK, among others. Indeed, the university is well prepared for you

While wishing you a pleasurable and rewarding time as you study in NOUN, let me tell you that the rewards of hard work are many. So, keep this at the back of your mind as you go about translating your big dreams into reality.

Welcome to NOUN.

Units under VC's Office

+ Procurement unit

+ Media and Information Unit      

+ Legal Unit  

+ Internal Audit Unit

+ Protocol Unit         

+ OER Unit     

+ Servicom Unit       

+ Advancement Unit         

+ Visitors Information and Call Centre Unit (VICC)       

+ Anti-Corruption and Transparency Monitoring Unit (ACTU)

+ Quality Assurance Unit

Academic Units

School of Arts & Social Sciences

School of Science & Technology

School of Health Sciences

School of Agricultural Sciences

School of Management Sciences

School of Education

School of Law

Centre for Lifelong Learning & Workplace Training

School of Postgraduate Studies

Access and General Studies Centre



Directorates and Units


Directorate of Information and Communications Technology

Directorate of Instructional Resources Development

Directorate of Physical Development, Works and Services (DPDW&S)

Directorate of examinations and assessment

Directorate of Learners Support Services

Directorate of Academic Planning


African Council for Distance Learning