Welcome to the Course Material Development Unit (CMDU)

The Course Material Development Unit is the professional base where all the University’s course materials are processed and published. Course Materials play a vital role in every Open and Distance Learning (ODL) institution and the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) is not an exception.

Course materials must be well organised, the right words must be chosen for stating objectives and language must be conversational, informal, using such techniques as repetitions, activities, self-tests, and exercises to enhance teaching in addition to a tutor-marked assignment at the end of every unit. Course content must be broken into manageable chunks; the aims of the course must be well presented for the learners.

NOUN Course Materials have always had a far-reaching impact on learners and other consumers and the Unit is poised to build on the existing human and material resources to provide contextually relevant resources in alternative formats: print, CD, DVD, web, Braille, etc.

In CMDU, sagacious staff with expertise and experience (Instructional Designers, Copy Editors, Audio-Visual Producers, Graphic Artists, Typesetters, and Administrators) work with course writers to produce quality study materials that meet NOUN and ODL specifications.

CURRENT INFORMATION ABOUT ACTIVITIES IN THE COURSE MATERIAL DEVELOPMENT UNIT (CMDU)

The following are some of the key functions of CMDU:

  • Coordinate Course Material development, writing, and review.
  • Edit course materials, student handbooks, journals, and occasional papers.
  • Liaise with faculties and study centres to organise workshops for course writers.
  • Liaise with the central warehouse to supply identified learning resource materials to faculties and learners.
  • Initiate printing of Course Materials based on students` trend of admission.
  • Mark up of published materials for reprint.
  • Send processed Course Materials to DICT for upload. 
  • Submission of legal deposits to the National Library of Nigeria
  • Print course materials.
  • Undertake such other duties and responsibilities as assigned by the Vice-Chancellor, under whose office the Unit is domiciled.

 

 

 

                CURRENT INFORMATION ABOUT CMDU STAFF

 

S/N

NAME

RANK

OFFICIAL EMAIL ADDRESS

1

Prof. Ibrahim O. Salawu

Head of Unit

isalawu@noun.edu.ng

2

Mrs. Judith G. Owonuwa

Chief Instructional Designer

jowonuwa@noun.edu.ng

3

Mrs. Felicia E. Acholo

Chief Instructional Designer

facholo@noun.edu.ng

4

Mrs. Nana U. C. Erin

Chief Editor

nerin@noun.edu.ng

5

Mr. Chukwuemeka Nwosu

Chief Editor

cnwosu@noun.edu.ng

6

Mr. Victor A. Ologuntoye

Chief Editor

 

7

Mr. Ibrahim Shehu

Principal Assistant Registrar

ibshehu@noun.edu.ng

8

Mr. Timothy Oladapo

Assistant Chief Technical Officer (Design and production)

ooladapo@noun.edu.ng

9

Mr. Joseph O. Awe

Principal Editor

jawe@noun.edu.ng

10

Mr. Linus Ejeh

Assistant Chief Foreman (Machine Operator)

leje@noun.edu.ng

11

Mr. Fatele Samuel Olaleye

Senior Editor

ofatele@noun.edu.ng

12

Kaltum Muazu Bakari (Mrs.)

Senior Editor

mkaltum@noun.edu.ng

13

Mrs. Christiana O. Olugboye

Chief Secretarial Assistant

oolugboye@noun.edu.ng

14

Mr. Toyin Balogun

Principal Foreman Machine Operator

tbalogun@noun.edu.ng

15

Mrs. Rhoda Monday

Senior Secretarial Assistant I

rmonday@noun.edu.ng

16

Mr. Felix Okpoto

Chief Clerical Officer

fokpoto@noun.edu.edu.ng

17

Mr. Abubakar Mohammed

Senior Secretarial Assistant II

sabubakar@noun.edu.ng

18

Mr. Benjamin Eni Kalu

Chief Clerical Officer

bkalu@noun.edu.ng

19

Mrs. Mercy Dal

Senior Secretarial Assistant II

Mdal.@noun.edu.ng

20

Mr. Lucky Ati-Ati

Senior Secretarial Assistant II

latiati@noun.edu.ng

21

Mr. Abdulazeez .A. Lawal

Senior Secretarial Assistant II

aylawal@noun.edu.ng

22

Mr. Samuel A. Nor

Senior Secretarial Assistant II

snor@noun.edu.ng

23

Mr. Sharon Bajinta

Assistant Chief Clerical Officer

Sharonbajinta8@gmail.com

 

Type (Directorate or Unit)
Units
Directorate/Unit Name
Course Material Development Unit (CMDU)
Director/Head
Prof. Salawu O Ibrahim
Email
cmdu@noun.edu.ng

How to Find Us

                    NOUN New Logo

National Open University of Nigeria
University Village
Plot 91, Cadastral Zone
Nnamdi Azikiwe Expressway
Jabi, Abuja 
Nigeria

E-mail:centralinfo@noun.edu.ng

Contact the Abuja Head Quarters between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers:
08079917938, 07064701747, 09082907092

Contact the Lagos Office between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers: 09056463036, 08038514090

Visit a Study Centre.

© 2021 National Open University of Nigeria. All rights reserved.