INTRODUCTION

The Faculty of Social Sciences was curved out from the former School of Arts and Social sciences in 2016. This is in accordance with the new paradigm shift from the school unit system to the faculty and departmental system

The Faculty’s Mission is to ‘’be highly committed to Academic excellence in the production of human capital for the sustainable development of a knowledge based economy’’

The Faculty currently comprises of 7 departments programme and 5 post graduate programmes

Listed below are some of the Activities of the Faculty  

ACADEMIC ACTIVITIES

Academic seminars are constantly held where some papers are presented for positive criticism to make them better.

  •  PUBLIC LECTURE:

Public lectures holds at certain interval or when the need arises.

  • CONFERENCES AND WORK SHOPS

The Faculty recently hosted a 1- day  in house training for Non-Teaching Staff of the Faculties titled ‘’Administrative practises in NOUN’’ on the 5th July, 2021. Other workshops and conferences such as ICOSS are held from time-time.

  • CONVOCATION

The Faculty of Social Sciences at the end of every year  convocates its students

  • ACADEMIC BOARD MEETING

 Faculty Academic board and Faculty Management Board meetings as well as Departmental meetings are held to deliberate on issues affecting student’s affairs and other academic problems from time-time.

  • APPPOINTMENTS AND AWARD

 The Faculty annually gives awards to the Best staff of either the Faculty or Department. The Committee of Deans Award is chaired by Professor and also some members of staff can be appointed to hold key positions at the Faculty e.g. Faculty Exam Officer & Admission Officer etc.

  • SETTING OF EXAMINATION QUESTIONS

 The Faculty gives mandate for the Departments to set exams questions, these questions are also moderated and kept in the question bank for future use.

  • CONFERENCE MARKING

The Faculty is involved in the Conference Marking Exercise at the end of semester. Marking coordinators and subject officers are appointed for proper monitoring and at the end of the exercise reports are submitted to the Faculty and the DEA

  • ATTENDING UNIVERSITY EXAMINATION COMMITTTEE

 The faculty attends UEC meeting to address current Examination challenges

  • FACULTY APPRAISAL AND PROMOTION COMMITTEE

 This Committee is charged with the responsibility of promoting Academic Staff of the Faculty. Academic Staff are assessed before their publications can be taken to central A&PC

  •  FACULTY LIBRARY: SERVICES RENDERED
  • Shelf reading on daily basis
  • Reference services
  • Recommended items or Information Material
  • Regulate borrowing of Books.

FACULTY MANAGEMENT INFORMATION SYSTEM(MIS)

The Faculty has a Staff deployed by the DMIS who provides technical support. Below are the Services rendered.

  • Providing Technical Support for TMA upload
  • Providing Faculty Record records to MIS e.g. Registrable Courses, course allocation and Admission requirements.
  • Helps identify reporting requirements of Faculty for onward transmission to the DMIS
  •  liaises with DMIS to provide relevant information to Faculty.
  • Provides Technical support to the staff of the Faculty e.g. Installing and configuration of internet printers, minor repairs and installation of some software (micro soft offices)
  • Resolves student’s issues regarding NOUMIS portal as well as the faculty.

CONCLUSION: Above are the activities that are being carried out at the Faculty of Social Sciences.

 

     DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINOLOGY AND SECURITY STUDIES

S/N NAME RANK  EMAIL ADDRESS
1

Prof. Smah Sam Obadiah

Professor

ssmah@noun..edu.ng

2

Dickson O. Igwe

Senior Lecturer

digwe@noun.edu.ng

3

Dr. Akoji Ocheja

Senior Lecturer

aocheja@noun.edu.ng

4

Dr. Ahmed Tanimu Mahmoud

Senior Lecturer

amahmoud@noun.edu.ng

5

Tijjani Halliru

Lecturer I

thalliru@noun.edu.ng
6

Dr. Jacob Eneji Ashibi

Lecturer I

eashibi@noun.edu.ng
7

Dr. Tajudeen Yusuf Adeyinka

Lecturer I

tadeyinka@noun.edu.ng

8

Christiana U. Ebobo

Lecturer I

cebobo@noun.edu.ng

9

Dr. Adeyinka, Tajudeen Yusuf

Lecturer I

tadeyinka@noun.edu.ng

10

Clement A.A.C. Chukwunka

Lecturer II

cchukwunka@noun.ed.ng

11

Dr. Helen Agan Egodo

Lecturer II

hegodo@noun.edu.ng

 
12

Dr. Vitalis Odinaka Ugwukwu

Lecturer II

vgwukwu@noun.edu.ng

 

                  DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENT STUDIES

S/N NAME RANK OFFICIAL EMAIL ADDRESS
1

Dr. Rakiya  Mamman-Simpson

Lecturer I

rmamman@noun.edu.ng

2

Dr. Emina William Uli

Lecturer II

uemina@noun.edu.ng

3

Dr. Samuel C. Anyaoha

Lecturer II

sanyaoha@noun.edu.ng

 

 

                        DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS   

S/N NAME RANK  EMAIL ADDRESS
1

Prof. Joseph Onwe

Professor

oonwe@noun.edu.ng

2

Prof. Ganiyat Adesina- Uthman

Professor

gadesina-uthman@noun.edu.ng

3

Dr. Emmanuel  Ifeanyi Ajudua

Lecturer I

eajudua@noun.edu.ng

4

Olumuyiwa Samuel Olusanya

Lecturer I

oolusanya@noun.edu.ng

5

Wilson F. Ohioze

Lecturer I

ohioze@noun.edu.ng

6

Abel,  Inabo Obaka

Lecturer I

aobaka@noun.edu.ng

7

Dr. Bakare-Aremu, T.A.

Lecturer I

Abakarearemu@noun.edu.ng

8

Vivian Anietem Odishika

Lecturer I

Vodishika@noun.edu.ng

    

                    DEPARTMENT OF MASS COMMUNICATION

S/N NAME RANK  EMAIL ADDRESS
1

Prof. Stanley Naribo Ngoa

Professor

sngoa@noun.edu.ng
2

Prof. E. McCarthy Mojaye

Professor

emojaye@noun.edu.ng

3

Prof. Jonathan Elom Aliede

Professor

aliedej@noun.noun.edu.ng

4

Dr. Chidinma Onwubere

Associate Professor

conwubere@noun.edu.ng

5

Dr. Abdul Lateef A. Adelakun

Senior Lecturer

ladelakun@noun.edu.ng

6

Dr. Helen Ambassador- Brikins

Lecturer I

Hambassador-brikns@noun.edu.ng

7

Dr. Chuks Oliver Odiedwu-Enwerem

Lecturer I

chuksenwerem@yahoo.com

8

Dr. Dennis Oche Abutu

Lecturer I

abutu@noun.edu.ng

9

Simbiat Ademuyiwa

Lecturer II

sademuyiwa@noun.edu.ng

DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

S/N NAME RANK  EMAIL ADDRESS
1

Prof. Kamal Deen Bello

Professor

mkbello@noun.edu.ng
2

Dr. Moses  Etila Shuaibu 

Associate Professor

Sabzab2008@gmail.com 

3

Dr. Ebele Udeoji

Senior Lecturer

uebele@noun.edu.ng

4

Dr. Aminu Umar

Senior Lecturer

aminuumar@noun.edu.ng

5

Terhember Ambe-Uva

Lecturer I

mneuter@gmail.com

6

Ifeyinwa M.. Ogbonna- Nwaogu

Lecturer I

mauify@yahoo.co.uk

7

Dr. David Oba

Lecturer I doba@noun.edu.ng
8

Dr. Mathew Ogwuche

Lecturer I

matogwuche@yahoo.com

9

Dr. Tem Alabi

Lecturer I

taalabi@noun.edu.ng

10

Dr. Eze Marcel Onyema

Lecturer I

meze@noun.edu.ng

11

Dr. Ubale Yahaya Jibrin

Lecturer II

jyahaya@noun.edu.ng 

12

Dr. Ayodele Olalekan Shotunde

Lecturer II

ashotunde@noun.edu.ng

13

Dr. Abdullahi Adamu

Lecturer II

abadamu@noun.edu.ng

 

DEPARTMENT OF PEACE STUDIES AND CONFLICT RESOLUTION

S/N NAME RANK OFFICIAL EMAIL ADDRESS
1

Prof. Hakeem Ibikunle Tijani

Professor

htijani@noun.edu.ng

2

Dr. Samuel Iroye

Associate Professor

siroye@noun.edu.ng

3

Dr. Olabamiji Oyebode

Senior Lecturer

olabamijioyebode@noun.edu.ng

4

Dr. Mathias Jarikre

Senior Lecturer 

mjarikre@noun.edu.ng

5

Dr. Adeola Adams

Senior Lecturer

adadams@noun.edu.ng

6

Anthonia Hafunjoh- Okonye

Lecturer II

aokonye@noun.edu.ng

7 Dr. Orebiyi Taiwo Lecturer I torebiyi@noun.edu.ng
8 Dr. Basil O. Ibebunjo Lecturer I bibebunjo@noun.edu.ng

 

                   DEPARTMENT OF TOURISM STUDIES

S/N NAME RANK OFFICIAL EMAIL ADDRESS
1

Dr. Matthew A. Gana

Senior Lecturer

mgana@noun.edu.ng

2

Dr. Jacob O. Oreimaye

Senior Lecturer

jorimaye@noun.edu.ng

3

Dr.O. Adedokun Fagbolu

Lecturer I

 
ofagbolu@noun.edu.ng
4

Dr. Sydney O. Echeta

Lecturer I

secheta@noun.edu.ng

5

Enesi Majebi

Lecturer I

emajebi@noun.edu.ng

6

Dr. Nathaniel  I. Omotoba

Lecturer II

nomotoba@noun.edu.ng

 

               

 

Faculty Name
Social Sciences
Faculty Location
Abuja
Dean
Dr. Moses Etila Shaibu
Deputy Dean
Dr. Iroye Samuel Opeyemi
Email
mshaibu@noun.edu.ng
Phone No.
08033769089, 09026478657
Students' Handbook

How to Find Us

                    NOUN New Logo

National Open University of Nigeria
University Village
Plot 91, Cadastral Zone
Nnamdi Azikiwe Expressway
Jabi, Abuja 
Nigeria

E-mail:centralinfo@noun.edu.ng

Contact the Abuja Head Quarters between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers:
08079917938, 07064701747, 09082907092

Contact the Lagos Office between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers: 09056463036, 08038514090

Visit a Study Centre.

© 2021 National Open University of Nigeria. All rights reserved.