+234 8038514090, +234 9082907092, +234 9056463036, +234 8079917938 centralinfo@noun.edu.ng
Select Page

Directorate of Security Services

Director’s Welcome Address

Director’s Welcome Address

Security is everyone’s business, and it is imperative for all staff to help Security operatives maintain an effective work environment, by cooperating when required and giving out necessary information that can help avert security breaches. If you see something UNTOWARD, kindly SAY something.


Mallam Isa Shehu

About the Directorate:

Directorate’s history: The Security Directorate of NOUN like every other security outfit in other organisation is essentially charged with the responsibility of protecting lives and property. It was established in 2011 and was headed by a Chief Security Officer, CSP Richard Ejeh (Rtd). He headed the unit from 2011- 2017, when his contract elapsed. It was upgraded to a Directorate on the 5th of September 2019, and it is currently headed by an Ag. Director,-Mallam Isa Shehu.

The Directorate has subsidiaries in all the Study Centres of NOUN that are located in the thirty-six states of the federation, FCT inclusive, as well as Special and Community Study Centres.

Vision, Mission &Philosophy:

to ensure professionalism by security personnel while on duty.

Services & Activities:

  • Provision of security services to NOUN Headquarters and all the Centres.
  • Prosecution of cases on behalf of the University.
  • Identification and closure of illegal NOUN Centres.
  • Provision of police protection during examinations at some strategic centres, and during University programmes like convocation, etc.
  • The Unit acts as an interface between security agencies and the University.
  • Provision of kit and accoutrement for all technical assistants.
  • Responsible for intelligence gathering, with a view to avert security breaches in the University and its properties.
  • Deployment of intelligence in safeguarding lives and properties within the University.
  • Initiate periodic security enlightenment and fire fighting programmes on crime prevention, detection and fire prevention.
  • Responsible for the compilation and computerisation of crime records in the University.
  • Prepare annual reports for the Directorate.
  • Participate in security drills.
  • Ensure the supervision and discipline of security staff.
  • Proper deployment of 4M’s (money, men, materials and morals).
  • Prepare annual budget for the Directorate.
  • Any other duties as assigned by the Vice Chancellor.
  1. Achievement:
  • Provision of security services to NOUN Headquarters and all the Centres year in, year out.
  • Approval of the Security directorate organogram by Management.
  • Elevation of junior staff into Senior staff as Supervisors.
  • Conducted training for all Security operatives.
  • Integration of the fire fighting unit into the directorate.
  • The directorate also conducted investigation into some sensitive cases on behalf of management to a logical conclusion.
  • Liaising with external security agencies to ensure hitch free events.
  • Prosecution of criminal cases on behalf of the University.
  • Identification and closure of illegal NOUN Centres.
  • Provision of police protection during examinations at some strategic and densely populated centres (Lagos, Maiduguri, etc).
  • The security staff also help curb cases of exam malpractices during exams.
  • The directorate has been able to send out periodic intelligence and security tips to all staff at the headquarters and all Study Centres nationwide.
  • Organised a special parade for Change of Guard for the former VC.

Staff members (Rank, Email):


1 Mallam Isa Shehu Ag. Director ishehu@noun.edu.ng Abuja HQ
2 Toyin Lawal PEO olawal@noun.edu.ng Abuja HQ
3 Nandak Thomas CSA fredricknandak@gmail.com Abuja HQ
4 Deborah Kilo SCO deborahkilo@gmail.com Abuja HQ
5 Egga Samuila HSO samuilaedom@yahoo.com Abuja HQ
6 Babadele Idris HEO Babad247@yahoo.com Abuja HQ
7 Desmond Adzer S.O II tadzer@noun.edu.ng Abuja HQ
8 Doris Okpor S.O II Lizzy4real@gmail.com Abuja HQ
9 Gloria Edokpa S.O II edokpagloriajiri@gmail.com Abuja HQ
10 Labe Timothy S.O II timothytervenda@gmail.com Abuja HQ
11 Stephen Ekeh S.O II Udstephen1986@gmail.com Wuse II
12 Okafor Charles S.O II Okaforch36@gmail.com Abuja HQ
13 Simon Avong Israel S.O II Simonisraelee2000@gmail.com Abuja Model Centre
14 Adedayo Wasiu S.O II adedayowasiuakinlawon@yahoo.com Ilorin Centre
15 Esther Emeka S.O II yahwendu22@gmail.com Enugu Centre
16 Kufre Harry S.O II kufreharry@gamil.com Portharcourt centre
17 Richard Monday S.O II richycreative@gmail.com Abuja HQ
18 Chikanma Victoria O. S. O II chikanmavic@yahoo.com Owerri Centre
19 Adewale Abiodun S.O II adebobo_abbey@yahoo.com Lagos office
20 Thomas Imhandojiemu S.O II imhandojiemu@noun.edu.ng Benin Centre
21 Esther Emeka S.O II yahwendu22@gmai.com Enugu Centre
22 Adetunji Bowofola E. HSO badetunji@noun.edu.ng Ilorin Centre
23 Rawson Jonathan STA joequeency25@gmail.com Benin Centre
24 Oluwe Justice TA oshio2020@gmail.com Fugar Centre
25 Danjuma Cecilia CTA chchosen@gmail.com Abuja HQ
Apply now