Select Page

Deputy Vice Chancellor - Technology, Innovation & Research (DVC-TIR

The office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Technology, Innovation, and Research) was established in the year 2021 to support the Vice-Chancellor in terms of providing policy and administrative guidelines to the university community in the areas of technology, innovation, and research.

The directorates and activities under the purview of the DVC-TIR are:

  1. Directorate of Information and Communication Technology (DICT)
  2. Directorate of Management Information Systems (DMIS) and
  3. Content delivery process

The Statutory function of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Technology, Innovation and Research (DVC-TIR) Include:

  1. To develop and update strategic plans and other related policies of deployment of technology in the National Open University of Nigeria.
  2. Facilitate and maintain the technology infrastructure that will be required for the smooth running of the university’s knowledge acquisition services.
  3. To network with relevant governmental and private organisations.
  4. To promote the use of technology for industrial engagement between the university and the private sector.

To achieve these goals, the DVC-TIR has segmented the office into:

  1. Administrative: Personnel Management
  2. Technical Unit: Technology enhancement and Data management.
  3. Secretariat: General purpose secretarial administration.

DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR (Technology, Innovation, and Research)
Prof. Monioluwa Omolara Olaniyi was appointed as the first DVC-TIR by the Governing Council of the university at its 66th meeting held on 14th July 2021 following her election by the University Senate at its meeting held on 7th July 2021.

Professor Monioluwa Omolara Olaniyi is a Professor of Nematology. She is a member of the Senate and the Governing Council of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).
Between 2015 and 2016, she served as the pioneer Director of NOUN’s Mushin Study Centre, Lagos, Nigeria. Prof. Olaniyi served on NOUN committees that wrote the Strategic Plan, “Road map 2013-2017” and Academic Brief documents of NOUN.

She was the Chairperson of the strategic action plan sub-committee and a member of the content sub-committee of the strategic plan central working committee.
She started her academic career as an Assistant Lecturer with the Federal University of Technology, Akure in 1991. She was a Graduate Research Fellow at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) 1996 -2000 and a Visiting Researcher at the University of Bonn, Germany (May-June 2008).

Prof. Olaniyi earned a doctorate in Applied Biological Sciences from the Catholic University of Leuven (KUL), Belgium, MSc. Nematology (Biology) from University of Ghent (UG), Belgium, MSc. Agricultural Biology from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria, and Bachelor of Technology (BTech.) Crop Production from the Federal University of Technology, Akure in Nigeria. She also holds a Postgraduate Certificate in Biosafety of Plant Biotechnology from UG.
Prof. Olaniyi strengthened her IT skills with CompTIA A+ certification and she is also an Oracle Certified SQL Expert.







Professor Monioluwa O. Olaniyi

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, TIR


Mr. Olatunji Folami

Principal Statistician


Mr. Muttaka Turaki Gujungu

Principal Network Engineer


Mrs. Esther E. Kalu

Principal Confidential Secretary


Miss Benedicta A. Otakpor

Administrative Officer I


Mr. Abidemi M. Kenthojaya

Administrative Officer II


Mrs. Nsikak Sylvester

Chief Clerical Officer


Mrs. Ngovou Veronica Gyang

Senior Clerical Officer


Mr. Abdullahi Salleh

Clerical Officer


Mr. Israel Ojima James

Chief Artisan (Driving)


Mr. Dominic A. Ojobo

Assistant Chief Environmental Attendant



Apply now